For effective and efficient administration, the activities of NSSO are decentralized under three zones:

  • Southern zone under the direct control of  NSSO Head Quarters
  • Northern zone under Zonal Silkworm Seed Organization (ZSSO) headquartered at Majra, Dehradun, Uttarakhand

  • East and North Eastern Zone under ZSSO headquartered at Raiganj, West Bengal.

  • 17  Basic Seed Farms (BSFs) , 18  hybrid Silkworm Seed Production Centres, one P1 Seed Production Centre,  2 Seed Cocoon Procurement Centres (SCPCs), 3 Cold Storage Plants (CSPs), one Sericulture Service Centres (SSCs), and One Chawki Rearing Centre situated in different states accomplish the manifold tasks of NSSO.  All the centres are state-of-the art with infrastructure and equipment with well trained and experienced scientific and technical personnel.